Curriculum Framework

The IB Middle Years Program (MYP) is designed for students aged 11 to 16 (grades 6-10). MYP students are making the transition from early puberty to mid-adolescence, which is a crucial period of personal, social and intellectual development, of uncertainty and questioning. The MYP is designed to guide students in their search for a sense of place in their natural and social environments. Through highlighting the importance of ‘Approaches to Learning’ (ATL) the MYP focuses students on how they learn, and helps them find out about themselves as learners so that they can develop learning skills. The program consists of eight subject groups integrated through 6 Global Contexts  that provide a framework for learning within and across the subjects and are designed to encourage the students to make worthwhile connections between the real world and classroom learning, and become critical and reflective thinkers. The MYP identifies prescribed key concepts and related concepts that ensure the development of a rigorous curriculum and promote a shared community of  IB World Schools offering the MYP.

The eight subject groups offered are as follows:

  • Language and Literature (Language A - English)
  • Language Acquisition (Language B - Polish, German, French, Spanish)
  • Experimental Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics)
  • Arts (Visual Arts, Drama, Music)
  • Physical and Health Education (P.E., Swimming Pool)
  • Design (ICT, Technology)
  • Mathematics
  • Individuals and Societies (Humanities - History, Social Studies, Geography)